jump to navigation

Lacy Tunic / Baby Dress Knitting Pattern July 22, 2010

Posted by life2d in Crafts, Hobbies.
Tags:
trackback

This is the dress my Grandmother made for me when I was a baby

I have decided to write the pattern for the dress after wanting to copy it. I chose to make the first one sleeveless, so it could be used as a little tunic. I might make another one with a thinner yarn and add the same type of sleeves as the original.

NOTE: This pattern has not been tested yet. I wrote it as I knitted, so there might possibly be some mistakes.

Materials: 

2 5oz balls Bernat Softee Baby in Denim Marl

Size 6 circular needles

1 button

3-4 feet cord or narrow ribbon

Gauge:

22sts and 30 rows to 4in square

Size:

1-2 yrs; chest 23in, length 18in

Abbreviations:

K = knit  P = purl  st(s) = stitch(es)  BO = bind off  CO =cast on  tog = together  TBL = through back loop  

yo = yarn over  skpo = slip 1 st, k1, pass slipped st over  ssk = [slip st knitwise]x2, insert tip of left needle into front loops of slipped sts and K2tog

DD = double decrease (slip 2 sts knitwise, knit 1, pass the 2 slipped sts over this st)

Detail of Latvian Cast-on (the cast on my Grandma always used and taught me; she called it 'double cast-on')

BACK:

CO150sts double stranded using the Latvian cast-on

Purl 1 row (WS)

Lace:

Rnd 1: K14, *[P2, yo, skpo, K3, ssk, yo]x2, P2, K14  repeat from * 4 times

Rnd 2: P14, *K2, P7, K2, P7, K2, P14  repeat from * 4 times

Rnd 3: K14, *[P2, K1, yo, skpo, K1, ssk, yo, K1]x2, P2, K14  repeat from * 4 times

Rnd 4: same as Rnd2

Rnd 5: K14, *[P2, K2, yo, DD, yo, K2]x2, P2, K14  repeat from * 4 times

Rnd 6: same as Rnd2

 Repeat these six rounds 11 times (if you want a longer dress add more repeats)

 

Decrease:

Rnd 1:  K14, *P2, skpo, K3, ssk, yo, P2, yo, skpo, K3, ssk, P2, K14  repeat from * 4 times

Rnd 2:  P14, *K2, P6, K2, P6, K2, P14  repeat from * 4 times

Rnd 3:  K14, *P2, skpo, K1, ssk, yo, K1, P2, K1, yo, skpo, K1, ssk, P2, K14  repeat from * 4 times

Rnd 4:  P14, *K2, P5, K2, P5, K2, P14  repeat from * 4 times

Rnd 5:  K14, *P2, K3togTBL, K2togTBL, P2, DD, K2tog, P2, K14  repeat from * 4 times

Rnd 6:  P14, *K2, P2, K2, P2, K2, P14  repeat from * 4 times (110sts)

Rnd 7:  K14, *P2, K2togTBL, P2, K2tog, P2, K14  repeat from * 4 times

Rnd 8:  P14, *K2, P1, K2, P1, K2, P14  repeat from * 4 times

Rnd 9:  K14, *P2, K2togTBL, K2tog, P2, K14  repeat from * 4 times

Rnd10: P14, *K2, P2, K2, P14  repeat from * 4 times

Rnd11: K14, * K2togTBLx2, K2tog, K14  repeat from * 4 times

Rnd12: Purl 1 row (82 sts)

Rnd13: K3, [K2, K2tog]x19, K3 (63 sts)

Rnd14: Purl 1 row

Rnd15: K2tog, yo, K1, [K1, k2tog, yo, K1]x15 (eyelet row, if you choose to have a drawstring)

Rnd16: Purl 1 row

Bodice:

Knit 1 row

Purl 1 row

Repeat previous two rows 4 more times.

BO6 sts at the beg of the next 2 rows (51 sts)

Next: skpo, Knit to last 2 sts, K2tog

Next: Purl 1 row

Repeat last two rows 4 more times (41 sts)

Next: K21, join new yarn, K20 (right shoulder in blue)

Purl 1 row (careful to keep sides separated)

Knit 1 row (careful to keep sides separated)

Repeat last two rows 2 more times

Next: P20, BO10, Purl to the end

Next: K9, K2tog, BO9, K2togTBL, K9

Next: P8, P2togTBL, P2tog, P8

Knit 1 row across

Purl 1 row across

Repeat last two rows 2 more times

Transfer the shoulder sts (9 each) on stitch holder if you plan to do 3 needle bind off for the shoulders or bind off if you plan to seam the shoulder seam.

FRONT: 

CO158sts double stranded using the Latvian cast-on

Purl 1 row (WS)

Lace:

Rnd 1: K1, *[P2, yo, skpo, K3, ssk, yo]x2, P2, K14,  repeat from * 4 times, [P2, yo, skpo, K3, ssk, yo]x2, P2, K1

Rnd 2: P1, [K2, P7, K2, P7, K2, P14]x4, [K2, P7]x2, K2, P1

Rnd 3: K1, *[P2, K1, yo, skpo, K1, ssk, yo, K1]x2, P2, K14,  repeat from * 4 times, [P2, K1, yo, skpo, K1, ssk, yo, K1], P2, K1

Rnd 4: same as Rnd2

Rnd 5: K1, *[P2, K2, yo, DD, yo, K2]x2, P2, K14,  repeat from * 4 times, [P2, K2, yo, DD, yo, K2], P2, K1

Rnd 6: same as Rnd2

Repeat these six rounds 11 times (if you want a longer dress add more repeats)

Decrease:

Rnd 1:  K1, *P2, skpo, K3, ssk, yo, P2, yo, skpo, K3, ssk, P2, K14,  repeat from * 4 times, P2, skpo, K3, ssk, yo, P2, yo, skpo, K3, ssk, P2, K1

Rnd 2:  P1, *K2, P6, K2, P6, K2, P14,  repeat from * 4 times, K2, P6, K2, P6, K2, P1

Rnd 3:  K1, *P2, skpo, K1, ssk, yo, K1, P2, K1, yo, skpo, K1, ssk, P2, K14,  repeat from * 4 times, P2, skpo, K1, ssk, yo, K1, P2, K1, yo, skpo, K1, ssk, P2, K1

Rnd 4:  P1, *K2, P5, K2, P5, K2, P14,  repeat from * 4 times, K2, P5, K2, P5, K2, P1

Rnd 5:  K1, *P2, K3togTBL, K2togTBL, P2, DD, K2tog, P2, K14,  repeat from * 4 times, P2, K3togTBL, K2togTBL, P2, DD, K2tog, P2, K1

Rnd 6:  P1, *K2, P2, K2, P2, K2, P14,  repeat from * 4 times, K2, P2, K2, P2, K2, P1 (108sts)

Rnd 7:  K1, *P2, K2togTBL, P2, K2tog, P2, K14,  repeat from * 4 times, P2, K2togTBL, P2, K2tog, P2, K1

Rnd 8:  P1, *K2, P1, K2, P1, K2, P14  repeat from * 4 times, K2, P1, K2, P1, K2, P1

Rnd 9:  K1, *P2, K2togTBL, K2tog, P2, K14,  repeat from * 4 times, P2, K2togTBL, K2tog, P2, K1

Rnd10: P1, *K2, P2, K2, P14  repeat from * 4 times, K2, P2, K2, P1

Rnd11: K1, * K2togTBLx2, K2tog, K14  repeat from * 4 times, K2togTBLx2, K2tog, K1

Rnd12: Purl 1 row (73 sts)

Rnd13: K1, DD, K14, DD, K6, K2tog, K6, DD, K6, K2tog, K6, DD, K14, DD, K1 (61 sts)

Rnd14: Purl 1 row

Rnd15: [K1, K2tog, yo, K1]x15, K1 (eyelet row, if you choose to have a drawstring)

Rnd16: Purl 1 row

Bodice:

Knit 1 row

Purl 1 row

Repeat previous two rows 4 more times.

BO6 sts at the beg of the next 2 rows (49 sts)

Next: skpo, Knit to last 2 sts, K2tog

Next: Purl 1 row

Repeat last two rows 4 more times (39 sts)

Knit 1 row

Purl 1 row

Repeat last two rows 1 more time

Next: K9, K2tog, BO18, K9 (20sts)

Next: P8, P2togTBL, join second ball of yarn P2tog, P8

Knit 1 row across

Purl 1 row across

Repeat last two rows 4 more times

3 needle bind off the shoulder sts on front and back or bind off the front shoulders and seam front and back shoulder seams.

Finishing:

Mattress stitch the side seams and weave cord or ribbon thru the eyelets if using. Sew button on the back.

Crotchet edge around arms and head opening, making a loop for the button closing.

Comments»

1. Melinda - July 23, 2010

ADORABLE! I am definately making this for a friend who has a little girl in her oven :P

teresachinnock - June 3, 2013

“A little girl in the oven” lol SUCH a cute phrase! I mean I have heard it before but somehow ur wording made it seem cuter than usual lol!!

2. Donna O - July 24, 2010

A lovely little dress! I will make one for my granddaughter. Thank you for sharing.

3. Madeline - July 24, 2010

Just beautiful work. I am going to do this as my next project. I sure wish the sleeves were included in the instructions.

4. Nina J - July 27, 2010

This little dress is gorgeous……thanks so much for sharing the pattern…I must try it.

5. Andrea K. - August 3, 2010

Thank you so much for teaching us this Latvian Cast-on. I appreciate your effort to struggle with the camera but it worked. I could understand quite easily how to make it. I am excited to try this adorable dress.

6. Amy J - August 7, 2010

I just cast on 168 for the back, but the pattern is not working out with that number. It should either be 158 or 192, but I’m not sure which. Any thoughts? I’m loving this little dress (I also cast on uusing much smaller needles for a smaller baby)

life2d - August 9, 2010

Amy, the back needs 150sts, not 168. Each lace panel is 20sts and each stockinette panel is 14sts. The back has 4 lace panels (4x20sts) and 5 plain panels (5x14sts). The front has 5 lace panels (5x20sts) and 4 plain ones (4x14sts) plus one st at each end for seaming.

7. Linda - November 4, 2010

The dress is adorable. I dont have too much experience but I will try to make it. Thank You for sharing

8. Apryl - December 25, 2010

I have been looking for a knitted dress for my granddaughter and this is the one.. thanks for sharing.. it makes it all that much more special that your grandma made it for you.

9. Maya - January 5, 2011

How many sts should I cast on for half year old baby…? is the number 150 is for 150 pairs made in Latvian Cast-on?
I would love to make it for my girl! :)
Thank you for sharing this pattern!!

life2d - January 6, 2011

Maya, there are 150sts total (so 75 pairs in the Latvian cast on). If I were you I would use a thinner yarn than what I used and keep all the measurments the same. Even with the Bernat yarn I have used, the dress might end up fitting your baby girl, unless she is a very small baby. You might need to adjust the bodice part a little, though…

Maya - January 9, 2011

Thank you !! :)

10. sameena - January 8, 2011

Adorable dress. I have a question. Do we make the front and back together on the circular needle or separate. And also can we knit it on regular #6 needles? thanks for sharing the pattern.

life2d - January 9, 2011

Sameena, the front and back are knit separate and seamed together. I like using circular needles for all of my knitting, but you may certainly use any needles that work for you! :)

11. Shirley Croce - January 16, 2011

Thanks for sharing this beautiful pattern. I will make it for my grand daughter who will be born mid-March. If I start now, I should finish by the time it will fit her!! Seriously, I am confused about the Latvian cast on ..”double”. Do I use two stands of yarn? Sorry to be such a dumbo.

life2d - January 19, 2011

So, in latvian cast on, the stitches end up looking like pairs of double stitches (hence my Grandma calling it ‘double cast-on’). On top of that, for a more noticeable edge I recommend casting on with the yarn held double.
Of course any cast-on should work for this dress but I really liked the way my grandma made it with the latvian and the yarn kept double, so that’s how I put it down in the pattern.

12. Maya - January 28, 2011

Hey :)
No good news here for me.
No matter what I do, I can’t manage to make the pattern fit..
[P2, yo, skpo, K3, ssk, yo] is adding up to be 11 instead of 9 for me somehow.. any idea why and how I can solve this issue…? I try and try over again and maybe I should give up by now, but I just have to figure it out ..

13. Maya - January 29, 2011

Finally!!!! with my mother help online I finally got it! :) Thank you again ! :)

life2d - February 6, 2011

I am so glad you have figured it out! Good luck! :)

14. nellie Van Klaveren. - February 5, 2011

Dear Ms Life. I saw your pattern for the lacy-tunic-baby -dress. I fell in love with it,and want to try to make it for my,Great Grand-granddaughter,s first birthday Feb 27. I started it but I have questions about it. The 5th row for the back it said DD means double decrease. But when you do it,it takes 8 sts away from 4 lace panels. Do this 11 time you have 62 sts left at this point.I looked with my magnifying glass at the picture,and it looks that the decreasing starts after that. It mention at row 6 from the decreasing to have 110 sts left,and atrow 12 82 sts left. I hope you can help me out with this,I love the dress. I am 88 years old and I think I must have worn a similar dress like this,it looks so vintage. I really hope that I can make this in time,for her birthday. THANK YOU SO MUCH.NELLIE.

life2d - February 6, 2011

Hi Nellie. All the decreases (double DD, skpo, ssk) in the lace pattern are accompanied by YOs (yarn over). This way the number of stitches remains the same. The decrease right before the bodice is the only part where there are no YOs. I hope this answers your question.

15. nellie Van Klaveren. - February 7, 2011

2–7-2011. Dear Ms,Life. Thank you so much ,for your quick reply. I am sorry that I did not see it right away. I started to knit again today,and hope to finish it in time for the birthday. When I have it done,I will let you know. Thank you,thank you,it made me so happy to hear from you. NELLIE.

life2d - February 7, 2011

Good luck Nellie! Looking forward to seeing the finished dress! :) Are you on Ravelry?

16. Nicole - March 7, 2011

Hello! This dress looks absolutely adorable and I am planning to make it for my 3 month old. Does anyone have any idea on how to add the little cap sleeves?
Nicole

17. dawn lenz - April 27, 2011

Very Beautiful! I didn’t look at the sizes though…my girl is hitting 3/4t now…I’m sure I could make it work. Thanks for posting.

18. Kim - May 16, 2011

I absolutely love this little dress. Is there any way you could tell me how to make this for a little girl that is size 6 or 8. Unfortunately, there are not a lot of patterns like this for little girls. Any help you could give me would be greatly appreciated. Thank you. Kim

19. vijayalakshmi - June 21, 2011

I like this very much.I can’t resist d temptation to make one for my grand daughter. I have a thicker yarn and us#8 needles.I feel 150 stiches will be too much.I don’t know latvien cast on.Can i work on normal cast on .please suggest.How many should i cast on for an 18monthold.

life2d - June 23, 2011

You can use any cast on you are comfortable with. About the number of stitches, what I can suggest is deciding how big you want the dress around in inches and calculating how many stitches that is for your yarn, using the gauge info on the yarn label. Good luck!

20. vijayalakshmi - June 24, 2011

thank you for the prompt reply.Now I will start.

21. kit - January 7, 2012

can you tell me what size baby/toddler this fits?

life2d - January 20, 2012

Using the yarn I used (or similar) and following the pattern should fit an 18 month old.

22. Lorena Duran - January 17, 2012

Last summer I tried this pattern for my goddaughter, and it was meant for the 2 year old birthday which was a couple of months after I finished it. She’s a more petite baby, and when I crocheted the edges, it stretched out the top a bit, so it only just fit her perfectly now. Her mom’s favorite color is green, so I chose a green dress with pink accents. I knitted the cord with 4 stitches, in pink to make it an accent. I’m trying to figure out if I can upload a picture, any ideas anyone? If not, let me know and I can email it to you. I used the same Bernat Softee Baby yarn. It is absolutely fantastic!!! She looks adorable!!! Aparently she kept twirling in it. Her mom told me she took the dress of her baby for lunch since she’s a messy eater, and as soon as she was done eating, my goddaughter went right for her dress and told her mom to put it back on. Making it clear she wanted to go back to twirling in it. haha. Fantastic Pattern, thank you for sharing it with us!

23. kit - February 4, 2012

Are there instructions for making this dress with sleeves?

Thanks!

life2d - February 5, 2012

I haven’t tested the sleeve yet…

24. Sharon - June 28, 2012

Have you written the pattern with sleeves yet?

life2d - September 22, 2012

no, not yet, but if you look at Renoza’s comment, she has shared the pattern for sleeves she has adapted to go with the dress.

25. Renoza - September 17, 2012

Thanx a lot for the beautiful pattern life2d. I made this for my friend’s daughter and it looks so pretty. I managed to knit the sleeves too although I am not an expert. It worked perfectly for me. I have pictures of the dress. Plese let me know how I can send it to you.

Below is the pattern notes for the sleeves. Hope this works for those who try, (I’m a bit nervous). This is my first time doing this.

Sleeves (make 2)
Cast on 45 sts.
Knit in stockinet for 6 rows ending with the WS (purl row)
Row 7: K2 *YO K2tog K1*, repeat from * 12 times, K2
Row 8: Purl
Row 9: Knit across increasing 12 sts evenly (57 sts)
Row 10: Purl
Row 11: Knit across increasing 15 sts evenly (73s ts)
Work in Stockinet for 7 more rows
Continue pattern binding off 4 sts at the beginning of next 2 rows (65 sts)
Next row: K 2tog, work to the last 2 sts, ssk
Purl 1 row
Repeat the last 2 rows 3 more times (57 sts)
Work 3 rows even
Bind off 6 sts beginning of next 4 rows
Work 2 rows even
Bind off rest of the sts

Weave cord or ribbon through the eyelets

Andrea Brewer - November 4, 2012

This is such a cute dress! I was wondering if there’s any way you could include the sleeves in the instructions, didn’t notice them. Thanks for your time and such a cute item.
~andrea~

life2d - November 30, 2012

Thank you Andrea!
If you scroll down a little you can see the pattern for sleeves Renoza has generously shared. :-)

Jan Kaplan - March 28, 2013

Renoza,
I’d love to see a picture of the finished dress with your sleeves. Please send to me.
Jan

Renoza - April 3, 2013
26. Knitted dress | Gaia's Intent - January 18, 2013

[...]                                      this is the link with the pattern [...]

27. Jan Kaplan - April 20, 2013

Dress finished, and it came out great. I did fewer decreases for the armholes on the bodice, as I thought that would look better with the sleeves.

28. teresachinnock - June 3, 2013

Reblogged this on teresachinnock's blog.

29. DJ - November 14, 2013

Is there any reason why I cannot knit this in the round? In other words, join the 150 stitches, make the required adaptions to knit & purls and avoid the dreaded seem?? I’ve got the first few rows knit and I already LOVE it! And your cast-on is absolutely wonderful too … You’ve introduced me to a new favorite cast-on.

Thanks … And please let me know about knitting this in the,round.
Debbie

life2d - November 15, 2013

Of course you can knit it in the round if you could figure out the correct underarm decreases. I hate seaming too, but I was trying to replicate the exact pattern my grandma has used originally, so I went with the seaming. Good luck and please share photos of the finished dress, I would love to see it!

30. Ronda Foster - July 20, 2014

Hi, I just found your pattern for this dress which I am excited to start. Can you tell me what size dress this would make? I am

31. hibiscus - July 25, 2014

Tres sympa pour le partage tuto de cette jolie robe.
Bravo


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

