jump to navigation

I call it Taco Soup May 6, 2008

Posted by life2d in main course.
Tags: ,
trackback

Yesterday evening I had to be at school with one of my girls for a meeting , so I needed to make something quick we could eat before going, that could still be good an hour later when hubby would get home. I haven’t been grocery shopping for a while, so my fridge was kind of empty. This soup came mostly from the pantry. I almost always have some cooked ground turkey with onion in the freezer and I happen to have a little baggie left of that as well. Here is what I came up with:

Taco Soup

1-2 cups ground turkey & onion mixture (already cooked, frozen)

1 carton of organic chicken broth (32 oz.)

1 can of petite diced tomatoes

1 can of pinto beans

1 can of black beans

1 can of red kidney beans

2 cups of frozen corn

1 envelope of Taco seasoning (about 2 Tbls?)

 

Throw everything together in large pot, bring to a boil and simmer on low heat for 20 minutes. Makes about 10 servings.

Not the healthiest thing out there, but I did use low sodium cans of beans, since they didn’t need to be drained. You can serve with sour cream, salsa, shredded cheese and tortilla chips. We just had toasted bread with it and it was yum. Three of us went for seconds.

 

Taco Soup

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

