jump to navigation

Yet another use for my pre-cooked ground turkey May 17, 2008

Posted by life2d in main course, Vegan.
Tags: , ,
trackback

We love pasta here and could eat it several times a week with no problem. The one recipe I make the most is:

Pasta with meat sauce

Sometimes I substitute ‘fake ground meat’ for the turkey to make it vegan.

1 baggie of frozen cooked ground turkey with onions (or about 1 cup of ‘meal starters crumbles’)

1 can of sliced mushrooms

1 small can of sliced black olives (I use half of a big can and slice them myself)

1 jar or can of spaghetti sauce (most of the time I use Hunt’s cans)

1 pound of cooked pasta (I try to stick with whole wheat, sometimes it’s rotini, sometimes penne or thin spaghetti)

 

While I wait for the pasta water to boil, I slice the olives and stir-fry the drained mushrooms. I don’t bother defrosting the meat, I just take a hammer to the bag and crumble it. Then I add the meat to the non-stick frying pan with the mushrooms. Once everything is heated through I add the sauce and the olives and bring to a boil. Then I simmer on low until the pasta is done. You can serve the sauce over pasta or mix them both together and sprinkle with Parmesan cheese. (I skip the cheese on vegan days.) We had an avocado tomato salad with it.

Comments»

1. Miss Life - October 23, 2008

Meh. I only like it when you use fake meat.
My rating: 4/5 stars


Leave a Reply

