jump to navigation

I want something sweet! June 5, 2008

Posted by life2d in dessert.
Tags:
trackback

I have been craving sweets for the last few days, but I have tried to give up all candies and fatty chocolates. So, I was thinking, if only there was something fat-free, but not 100% sugar out there… Well, here it is: fat-free brownies, except that I have decided to add walnuts, which are ‘a healthy fat’, after all. Weird thing: since I only bake once in a blue and vermilion moon, all my ingredients were expired except for the cocoa powder, which I had just enough of for this recipe. The brownies still turned ok, and they were just the way I like them. For people that prefer theirs really sweet, I suggest pouring some fat-free caramel sauce on top before baking them.

Low-Fat Brownies

3/4 cup all purpose flour

2 Tbsp whole wheat flour

1 1/4 cup sugar

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 cup cocoa powder

1 tsp vanilla

3 egg whites

1 4oz container of unsweetened apple sauce

1/2 cup walnuts (optional)

In large bowl mix all the dry ingredients thoroughly, then add eggs and apple sauce (and vanilla, if you use the liquid form). Mix until the batter is smooth, fold in the nuts if using and pour into an 8×8 glass baking dish sprayed with non-fat cooking spray. Bake in a pre-heated 325ºF oven for 32 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Cool, cut and enjoy. Or if you are like us, break off chunks of warm brownies and devour them before they get taken by someone else.

UPDATE: 10/7/2014 Made this with almond meal instead of flour and coconut flour instead of wheat flour. I only used 1/2 cup sugar plus about 1/4 cup honey. I replaced the egg whites with 2 large eggs, everything else was left the same. Turned up really tasty but the texture is more like cake than brownie, I think. Although I haven’t had brownies in so long, I might be wrong. I do seem to remember brownies as delightfully fudgy, though… 🙂

Comments»

1. Miss Life - October 23, 2008

My rating: 4.5/5 stars


Leave a Reply

