jump to navigation

Reorganizing March 13, 2009

Posted by life2d in main course.
Tags: ,
trackback
Well, I am starting to get really annoyed trying to find my recipes in the draft folder. So, I am going to publish one a day and have an easy to find index on a separate page. I think that would make it easier for me to find what I am looking for, fast.
I will start with the Turkey Meatloaf : one of my favourites and one of the very few that involves fresh meat. I mostly cook with frozen meat. The reason being, I cannot stand touching uncooked meat! So the way I make my meatloaf is using two ice-cream spades to mix and shape the loaf. 🙂
The great thing about this meatloaf is it being not only low fat but so very moist and fluffy, not to mention very healthy with the pepper, spinach and quinoa added in.
Turkey Meatloaf
20 oz extra lean (1% fat) ground turkey breast
1/2 cup quinoa
3/4 cup vegetable broth
2 egg whites
1/2 cup  ketchup
2 cloves garlic
1 tsp.  dried basil leaves
1 pkg. (10 oz.) frozen chopped spinach, thawed, well drained
1 red pepper, chopped
1 small onion, chopped  
2 Tbsp.  Dijon Mustard
2 Tbsp. honey
Rinse quinoa. Mix with the broth, bring to a boil, then simmer 15-20 minutes.
Meanwhile, in large bowl mix ketchup, basil, spinach, red pepper, onion and garlic. Add cooked quinoa, egg whites and turkey. Mix well.

Shape into loaf in the middle of greased 13×9-inch baking pan.

Bake at 350°F for 45 minutes. Mix mustard and honey; brush onto meatloaf. Bake an additional 25 to 35 minutes or until cooked through (internal temperature reaches 165°F). Let stand 10 minutes before cutting into slices to serve.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

