jump to navigation

Time to restock my freezer March 20, 2009

Posted by life2d in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback

Well, this week I have realized I had already used my last little bag of pre-cooked ground meat, the starter of about half of the recipes I cook on a regular basis. I usually buy the 20oz prepackaged ground turkey, either the lean or extra lean depending on which is on sale.

This time it was the extra lean. I got four trays and cooked them in two batches, each with a very large chopped onion. As soon as the meat is browned (no more pink), I drain the fat , cool the mixture and divide into several small freezer bags. Two trays give me about 8-9 portions, so each individual bag would be about 4-5 oz, I guess.

I freeze the bags and when I need them, I just take out of the freezer, smack it a couple of times with a hammer to crumble it and proceed with my recipe. I never bother to defrost them. I keep a hammer near the kitchen and call it my ‘defroster’. 🙂

Here are four of the baggies already frozen

Here are four of the baggies already frozen

Comments»

1. Yet another use for my pre-cooked ground turkey « Ms. Life’s Place - March 20, 2009

[…] 1 baggie of frozen cooked ground turkey with onions (or about 1 cup of ‘meal starters crumbles’) […]

2. I call it Taco Soup « Ms. Life’s Place - March 20, 2009

[…] 1-2 cups ground turkey & onion mixture (already cooked, frozen) […]

3. Here’s one more « Ms. Life’s Place - March 23, 2009

[…] 1 bag of precooked ground turkey’n onions […]


Leave a Reply

